What Can Sorrow Do for You?

sorrow

After moments of loss one may feel remorse, anguish, regret, and most of all sorrow. According to Google, “Sorrow” is defined as:

“a feeling of deep distress caused by loss, disappointment, or other misfortune suffered by oneself or others.”

Why do we sorrow? What is the point of the emotion?

Sorrow is a natural response to an act that hurt us emotionally. In other words, whatever happened to you, you will naturally and automatically have the emotion. So the real question is not, “Why did this have to happen to me?” One must ask themselves instead, “What am I going to do about it?”

Joel Osteen, a motivational preacher, said this:

“Every difficulty is growing you up, every painful time, even though you don’t like it, it’s developing something in you that can only be developed in the tough times, the key is what we do in our times of pain, pain will change us; heartache, loss, disappointments, they don’t leave us the same…

You can come out defeated, giving up on your dreams or you can come out with a new passion, a new fire; excited about the new opportunities in front of you. All of us experience pain, my challenge is don’t just ‘go’ through it, ‘grow’ through it”.

I challenge us all to keep this key principle in mind. When life knocks us down and we feel emotional pain, do not waste your pain by moping about it and asking “Why did this have to happen to me?”, “don’t just ‘go’ through it, ‘grow’ through it”.

 

Please comment below


2 thoughts on “What Can Sorrow Do for You?

  1. Chase, Thanks for your post! This post reminded me a lot of Elder Uchtdorf’s talk a few years ago in conference about finding joy in the journey, not because of the journey. There was a very similar talk that was given this conference. I think it was by Elder Yamashita. I can’t remember for sure. But this principle can absolutely change lives. This is a principle that has changed my life forever. We go forward allowing experiences to push us, but never to tear us down. Because it is ultimately our decision to fall. But it is also our decision to rise up and to find joy. Incredible video as well! Thanks again, my brother!

    Like

  2. I love the quote “Don’t just go through it. Grow through it.” Sorrow indeed can be destructive if we let it sit in our systems for too long. It is not a bad thing to feel sorrow. You know you’re alive when life knocks you down and you don’t like it. To your point and Joel Osteen’s, the response to an event that brings sorrow will shape who you are going to be from that point on. Some people stay down while others get up to face the risk of being knocked down again or seizing the day. I heard in a video once a quote saying, “If life knocks you down, I say land on your back because if you can look up, you can get up.” I don’t know who said it so I can’t give due credit. I hope everyone has the will in them to never back down and stay down. There is always something worth living and fighting for. Thanks for the post, Chase.

    Like

Leave a comment